State of Hawaii Department of Human Services MED-QUEST DIVISION

MEDICAID STATE PLAN

SPA MEMO NO.: 21-17 DATE: 01/25/22

ORIGINATOR: POLICY AND PROGRAM DEVELOPMENT OFFICE

TO: Custodian of Med-QUEST Division Medicaid State Plan

MF

FROM: Judy Mohr Peterson, PhD

Med-QUEST Division Administrator

SUBJECT: APPROVAL OF AMENDMENT UNDER THE MEDICAID STATE PLAN

EXPLANATION:

The State of Hawaii received approval from the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services for State Plan Amendment (SPA) Number 21-0017.

This amendment allows for third-party liability payment up to 100 days instead of 90 days for claims related to medical support enforcement.

FILING INSTRUCTIONS:

Review and file the NEW Medicaid State Plan pages in your Medicaid State Plan Manual as follows:

Attachment 4.22-B pg. 3 Add NEW Attachment 4.22-B pg. 3

Section 4.22 pg.70 Remove OLD Section 4.22 pg. 70 and replace

with amended Section 4.22 pg. 70

The Med-QUEST Division amendment described above has been incorporated into the electronic version of the Medicaid State Plan located at the Department of Human Services (DHS) website link for public transparency below:

http://humanservices.hawaii.gov/reports/hawaii-medicaid-state-plan/

Attachments

c: Attorney General's Office

Audit, Quality Control & Research Office/Quality Control Staff

Clinical Standards Office

Department of Health/Child & Adolescent Mental Health Division

Department of Health/State Planning Council Developmental Disabilities

Department of Health/Developmental Disabilities Division

Department of Human Services /Adult Protective and Community Services Branch

Department of Human Services/Policy and Program Development Office

Eligibility System Project (KOLEA)

Finance Office

Hawaii Document Center/HI State Library

Hawaii Legislative Reference Bureau Library

Health Care Services Branch

Legal Aid Society of Hawaii

State of Hawaii

REQUIREMENTS FOR THIRD PARTY LIABLILITY- PAYMENT OF CLAIMS

(i) The Medicaid agency ensures compliance with the TPL requirements authorized under both the Bipartisan Budget Act (BBA) of 2018 (Pub. L. 115-123) and the Medicaid Services Investment and Accountability Act (MSIAA) of 2019 (Pub. L. 116-16 affecting the BBA of 2013.

Citation Requirements for Third Party liability Payment of Claims

42CFR433.139(b)(3)(ii)(C)

(1) The State will pay and chase third parties when services covered under the plan are furnished to an individual on whose behalf child support enforcement is being carried out by the State Title IV-D Agency.

For such claims, the State will only authorize payment under the following conditions:

- a. Up to 100 days have elapsed from the date of service.
- b. The provider billed the third-party.
- c. Documentation is attached verifying that a. and b. have been met.

The State will monitor the pay and chase system for such claims for improper billings made by providers and take appropriate corrective action.

42CFR433.139(b)(3)(ii)(B)

- (2) Providers who have billed a third party prior to billing Medicaid must certify on the Medicaid claim that a third party has been billed, that claim has been fully adjudicated by the third party, and that payment has not been received by Medicaid.
- Section 1902(a)(25)(E) 42CFR139(b)(3)(i)
- (3) The State shall make payments without regard to third party liability for

pediatric preventive services unless a determination related to cost-effectiveness and access to care that warrants cost avoidance for up to 90 days has been made.

Section 1902(a)(25)(E)

(4) The State shall use standard coordination of benefits cost avoidance when processing claims for prenatal services, including labor and delivery and postpartum care claims.

| TN No. | 21-0017 | | | | <u> </u> |
|------------|---------|----------|------------|-----------------|------------|
| Supersedes | | Approval | | Effective Date: | 12/31/2021 |
| | | Date: | 01/21/2022 | | |
| TN No. | NEW | | | | |

| State/Territory: | | STATE OF HAWAII | | | |
|--|------------------|-----------------|---|---|--|
| Citation: | | | | ATTACHMENT 4.19-B | |
| , ———————————————————————————————————— | 4.22 (continued) | | | | |
| 42 CFR 433.151(a) | | (c) | The Medicaid agency has written cooperative agreements for the enforcement of rights to and collection of third party benefits assigned to the State as a condition of eligibility for medical assistance with the following: (Check as appropriate.) | | |
| | | | req | te Title IV-D agency. The uirements of 42 CFR433.152(b) met. | |
| | | | Oth | ner appropriate State agency(s)- | |
| | | | Court and | law enforcement officials. | |
| 1902(a)(60) of the Act | | (d) | State has | caid agency assures that the in effect the laws relating to child support under section 1908 | |
| 1906 of the Act | | (e) | guidelines effectiven | caid agency specifies the sused in determining the cost less of an employer-based alth plan by selecting one of the | |
| | | | | etary's method as provided in Medicaid Manual, Section | |
| | | | determin | e provides methods for ing cost effectiveness on ent 4.22-C. | |
| | | * | either of t | e of Hawaii has not elected the above options, per Section ne BBA of 1997 | |
| 1902(a)(25) | | | | nplies with third-party liability nts reflected in current law." | |

TN No. <u>21-0017</u> Supersedes TN No. <u>01-011</u>

Approval Date: 01/21/2022

Effective Date: <u>12/31/2021</u>